Missing In Action


The African Weaver, industrious and purposeful.

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t posted in awhile. A ten-day siege of kidney stones. Thank you for morphine. But the effects of that palliative plus other drugs have left me feeling, well, drugged. It’s now morphed into the flu. That’s why I’ve been absent, but some of you have checked in every day. For that, thanks.

So, I missed most of the big writers conference this past week. I lasted an hour before going home. My hopes of meeting with editors to get help or acceptance of my manuscript—all was lost in a fog of physical pain. It was a disappointment, to be sure. But not something I’d consider unfair. Some of you live with physical pain, incurable disease, grief, hateful relatives, abandonment, or mobility problems every day of your lives.

My wife and I, sitting on our back deck this evening, re-visited events of the week. As we listened to night sounds and watched a tree frog march resolutely up a nearby oak, she shared her joy that a client began to show mighty progress against a painful childhood. Then she expressed disappointment that another lady had reverted back to ranting about old hurts. Back into the hole.

I mostly listened and watched the frog. I wondered if it had any idea where it was going, and if it knew why. I had little to say; my week had been a psychedelic of astonishing dreams, sharp pain, sleeplessness, nausea and other experiences I didn’t care to re-visit.

By the time the tree frog had advanced twelve feet above the ground, dusk took him from view. I won’t fret about the fate of the little green frog but I’ll wonder about the two ladies. Both will need to look to the future—not on the past.

The sooner we get our focus on Jesus, the Author and Finisher of our faith, the better our lives will be. He has a plan for our lives–a plan that can overcome, even when high-jacked by unseen circumstances.

By the way, how’s your climb?

About samuelehall

A follower of Jesus, husband, father of 3 adult children, writer and learner.
This entry was posted in Finding me ... and you and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Missing In Action

  1. It seems we just saw one another a month or so ago. I am working on Civics and prayer. Now the Oregon State Coordinator for Cry Out America http://www.AwakeningAmerica.us I am recruiting county coordinators, there are a few of us already. Also for the Governors Prayer Team http://www.GovernorsPrayerTeam.com I am the Marion County Coordinator for these. Very active in Civics working leading Precinct Committee People House Dist. leaders waiting for Aug. 27th to start placing signs. Still preaching on the street corner also, temporarily at Market & Hawthorne as Market & Lancaster is under construction. Salem Patriotic Parade, 12th St. SE 9-11-12 7-8pm, all welcome.

  2. Lindy Swanson says:

    I continue to pray for your healing and restoration. We missed you at the conference. God’s anointing on the speakers was remarkable. I hope you get a chance to hear the keynote speakers on CD’s.

  3. Beth Vice says:

    Hi Sam,
    So glad you’re doing better. We sure missed you at the conference. Stuff like that is so disappointing, but you have the right perspective. I know I struggle with what I think I want and need and the frustration of detours. Then, looking back, I see how God has used the detours even more than what I thought should have happened. Blessings on you, my brother. Take care and keep writing as you can.

    • samuelehall says:

      Thanks very much, Beth. My “right perspective” took awhile to swing into view but I’m thinking of attending another conference before spring. Any suggestions?

  4. Sam, Lindy Swanson dropped by here yesterday and gave me an update on you. I hadn’t been on facebook for some time because of the move, but will stay better informed now. So glad our God is faithful to hold us tightly when difficult things enter our lives. May He bless you exceedingly through this … in ways you never expected. I know that is just like Him. P.S. Although I don’t answer often, I really appreciate your posts.

  5. Julia Sumrall says:

    Hate that you had to endure the nasty kidney stones. Been there, done that and it is not fun! Take care of yourself. We will add you to our prayer list knowing God is all powerful. God bless.

    • samuelehall says:

      Thanks, Julia Faye, for your prayers. I’m surprised that so many people have gone thru this–and they don’t forget it. I’ve prayed for all of you thru this time of drought, too. I well remember the fifties. Such a time of innocence, even tho we didn’t have much.

  6. Jonathan says:

    Sam, I’ve had kidney stones. I’m very glad you’re on the up and up. It sounds peaceful at your place.

  7. This was beautiful, Sam. Despite everything, you can still write for God’s glory. I hope you’re feeling ever so much better now.

  8. Doug Bolton says:

    Sorry that you had to miss the conference, but your health comes first my friend. I had kidney stones. I now know the labor pains a mother goes through when she is having her baby. Lay low, and get some rest. If there is anything I can do to help, please call me.

    BTW… I have had to have you help me at the last three conferences. This conference I couldn’t have you to be my slave. I had to set everything myself. I sold four books!! Go figure! Your critique friend Frank bought one. He kept giving me updates on your progress. Nice guy.

    May God heal you completely, and let you have a published book soon!!

    Doug

    P.S. I may call in the next few day to give you an update on how I did at the conference with my appointments, and what “gigs,” I landed with editors.

    • samuelehall says:

      Hey, Doug! So you’ve experienced this lovely wake-up call? Well, it was exactly 27 years ago this month that I had my 1st kidney stone attack–was the month before Ethan was born–so I knew what was happening.
      Was it CS Lewis who said, “God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks to us in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: It is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”

  9. Baxter Hill says:

    May your stones be few and small and hoping your flu flew.

  10. Peggy fox says:

    Very very interesting. The physical pain u described is akin to what I am going through . July 15 a horrific accident has left me with a fractured sternum and as of yet is not healing. Then the section of the two ladies . Well I have been in situations they both are going through. I can relate. The ending was Music to my ears. It’s sooo hard to keep the faith but the fight is well worth it! God bless you!

    • samuelehall says:

      Peggy, you take time to respond to my posting in the midst of your pain! I pray for your healing and call upon others to pray for you in this time of intense pain. God is working, tho we may not be aware at the time. He will honor your faith.

  11. Sam, we all missed you and prayed for you. God’s grace touch your heart and body.

  12. Miriam Cheney says:

    Sure missed you last week, Sam. So glad you are on the way out of the haze. Crazy how these things happen at seemingly the most inconvenient time of our lives. But we can rest in the faith that He sees and cares and has us in hand. Many blessings to you as you continue your writing walk. Hoping to see you in October.

    • samuelehall says:

      Thanks, Miriam and Marilyn. Friends and loved ones carry us when we can’t carry ourselves. And I do rest in the faith that God sees and cares–not because I have no choice (we always have choices) but because he has shown himself time and again in the unexpected, in the disappointments that stop us.
      So I am re-evaluating what I’d hoped and planned to get from the Summer Conference. Revelation may not come soon but I’m confident that God has specific plans for my writing. I must do the hard work.

Leave a Reply

